Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search

A Family Style Dinner Benefiting Mississippi Forestry Foundation

About Tree Farm
Share |

The Mississippi Tree Farm Program is affiliated with the American Tree Farm System (ATFS).

 Click here for a brochure.

The American Tree Farm System (ATFS) is a program of the American Forest Foundation and is committed to sustaining forests, watersheds, and healthy habitats through the power of private stewardship.

Since 1941, ATFS has promoted and recognized the commitment of private forest owners in the United States. Currently, ATFS certifies 80 million acres of privately owned forestland and 85,000 family forest owners who are committed to excellence in forest stewardship in 46 states. Tree Farmers share a unique commitment to protect wildlife habitat and watersheds, to conserve soil, and to provide recreation for their communities while producing wood for America. These individuals hold the key to the kinds of forests, forest activities, and forest resources future generations of Americans will enjoy.

ATFS has established standards and guidelines for property owners to meet to become a certified Tree Farmers. Under these standards and guidelines, private forest owners must have a written management plan based on strict environmental standards and pass an inspection by an ATFS volunteer forester. Every year a sample of certified Tree Farm properties are visited by an independent assessment team to assure properties are meeting ATFS standards and guidelines.

Water. Wildlife. Recreation. Wood. The four sides of the Tree Farm sign tell the story of sustainable forestry ... a thriving forestland that has clean water, a healthy wildlife habitat, and recreational opportunities. Our green and white diamond shaped Tree Farm and Family Forest signs are widely recognized across the country.

The Tree Farm Program in Mississippi

The mission of the Mississippi Tree Farm Program is to promote the growing of renewable forest resources on private lands, while protecting environmental benefits and increasing public understanding of all benefits of productive forestry.

The MS Tree Farm Program is administered by the MS Tree Farm Committee, a standing committee of the MS Forestry Association (MFA). A team of more than 200 trained Tree Farm Inspectors conduct on-site inspections to determine if a forest property qualifies to become a certified Tree Farm. They also conduct periodic "required reinspections”.

Mississippi Tree Farm Facts

  • The first Mississippi Tree Farm was certified in 1944.  MS was one of the first states to join the American Tree Farm System.
  • Counties with the most certified Tree Farms in MS are Carroll (135), Marion (132), and Marshall (127).  Counties with the most certified Tree Farm acres in MS are Clarke (72,197), Lauderdale (47,440), and Carroll (38,582).
  • Counties with the most trained, volunteer inspectors in MS are Oktibbeha (30), Lauderdale (15), and Rankin (15).
  • Two of our MS Tree Farmers have won the National Tree Farmer of the Year award - Terry & Anne Ozier in 1990 and Chester & Rosett Thigpen in 1995.
  • Check out this Mississippi Tree Farm fact sheet from the American Tree Farm System website.


The MS Tree Farm Program is administered by the MS Tree Farm Committee, which is one of MFA’s standing committees. Any MFA member is welcome to join the Tree Farm Committee.


Tom Monaghan, State Tree Farm Administrator
Glenn Hughes, Chair
Betsey Padgett, Vice Chair
Jack White, Immediate Past Chair
David Hornsby, Treasurer

District Chairs

Mac Ables, Northwest District 
Brad Joiner, East Central District
Stephen Dicke, Capital District
Garron Hicks, Northeast District
Hoover McKie, Southeast District
Howard Stogner, Southwest District
Jack White, South Central District


Mac Ables - Grenada, MS
Bill Kitchings - Pearl, MS
John Auel - Mississippi State, MS
           Jeff Little - Mississippi State, MS
Keith Beatty - Philadelphia, MS
Davis Lovelace - Amory, MS
Judd Brooke - Perkinson, MS
Marc Measells - Mississippi State, MS
Barry Burney - Grenada, MS
Jay Mitchell - Corinth, MS
Jake Camp - Purvis, MS
Betsey Padgett - Lexington, MS
Carey W. Clay - Petal, MS
Jason D. Purvis - French Camp, MS
Justin Dewberry - Guntown, MS
Aaron Rambin - New Augusta, MS
Stephen Dicke - Raymond, MS
Tedrick Ratcliff - Jackson, MS
Martin Faulkner - Guntown, MS
Baxter Rowley - Columbia, MS
Meacham Harlow - Ellisville, MS
Suzie Sharp - Natchez, MS
Garron Hicks - Tupelo, MS
Howard Stognar - Brookhaven, MS
Paul C. Hogue - Louisville MS
  Jim Strong - Carrollton, MS
David Hornsby - Bellefontaine, MS
  Buck Tumlison - Clinton, MS
Glenn Hughes - Purvis, MS
  Julian Watson - Jackson, MS
Brad Joiner - Philadelphia, MS
  Jack White - Bay Springs, MS
Anna Kendall - Jackson, MS
  Dennis Wright - Tupelo, MS





Contact: John Auel, Mississippi Tree Farm State Administrator
Department of Forestry, Box 9691, Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: 662.325.6852     Fax: 662.325.0027      Send Mail

Sign In
Sign In securely